//Seven Wonders of the World
Seven wonders of the world

Seven Wonders of the World

Wondering What are the Seven Wonders of the world today? Then keep reading further as here we are going to discover all the seven wonders of the world 2018.

In the year 2007 more than 100 million people voted for the seven wonders of the world campaign to declare the new seven wonders of the world. These are the best ancient heritage sites in the world like no other which are unique and most valuable global heritage sites.  

Here we are going to update you with the listing of the all-new seven wonders of the world 2018 but they are listed without rankings,  So let’s begin


Taj Mahal, Agra

Image Source: Flickr (Creative Commons) 

Taj Mahal in Agra is the most incredible architecture and considered as the most perfect specimen of Muslim art that is ever built on this planet, Taj Mahal was built between 1632 and 1648 commissioned by the Mughal Emperor “Shah Jahan” for his wife “ Mumtaz Mahal” also known as “Arjumand Banu Begum” which was the Second wife of Shah Jahan who died giving birth to a child . It took more than 20 years to build Taj Mahal.

This White Marble structure represents a diverse architectural style at once which includes Indian, Islamic, Turkish and Persian. Considered as the symbol of true love Taj Mahal also encompasses a linear reflecting pool with gardens of raised pathways. Therefore Taj Mahal is voted as one of the Seven Wonders of the world.


Machu Picchu Seven Wonders of the World

Machu Picchu is one of the seven wonders of the world that is a dream destination of millions of people across the world.  It is located in the Cusco Region of Peru’s Machu Picchu district an Incan city of sparkling granite precariously perched between 2 towering Andean peaks.

The site can only be reached by foot, train or helicopter; most visitors visit by train from nearby Cusco.

According to the majority of archaeologists Inca emperor, Pachacuti built Machu Picchu as an estate around the year 1450 but this mountain citadel was later abandoned by the Incas. This site remained largely unknown to the rest of the world except to locals until 1911, when it was rediscovered by archaeologist Hiram Bingham.

Machu Picchu is a great representation of the “Incan” way of life and is thought by scholars to have been a sacred archaeological center for the nearby “Incan” capital of Cusco.



Image Source: Flickr (Creative Commons)

Colosseum is one of the seven worlds of the world sometimes also known as “Flavian Amphitheatre” It’s undoubtedly the most enduring oval shaped amphitheater in the center of the city, Rome – Italy.

The Colosseum was built between AD 70 and 80 AD and its construction was initiated by Emperor Vespasian and was in use for some 500 years and this elliptical structure sat nearly 50,000 spectators who assemble to watch the gladiatorial events as other public spectacles including animal hunts, battle reenactments, and executions. Interesting fact about Colosseum is that it had the capacity to host about 80,000 spectators.

Emperors of the Flavian dynasty later made certain modifications to the amphitheater but earthquakes and stone-robbers have left the Colosseum in the ruined state but some portions of the structure remained open for tourists and Today, this seven wonder of the world is a very popular tourist destination and considered as the iconic symbol of the Imperial Rome,

Nowadays the modern day’s amphitheater still influences the modern amphitheater construction.


The Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China was built between the 5th Century B.C and the 16th Century and is considered to be one of the seven wonders of the world, which is a global tourist spot known across the world for its very unique identity, historic value and great length which could also be spotted from space. The Great Wall of China is a stone and earth fortification created on the borders to Chinese Empire to protect the borders from the invading “Mongols”.

The Great Wall of China is a succession of multiple walls which has a huge span of approximately 4,000 miles which makes it the world’s longest man-made structure where a series of walls were initially built over a period of many years and these walls were joined together to be The Great Wall of China which is recognized as the UNESCO World Heritage site in 1987.

Chichen Itza (Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico)

Chichen ItzaChichen Itza is one of the seven wonders of the world which is an archaeological site located in Mexico (Yucatán). The adaptability of Mayan culture could be seen in the splendid ruins of Chichen Itza.

It is believed to have been one of the major cities of the ancient Mayan and this powerful city is a trading center of honey, salt cloth flourished and acted as a political and economic hub of the Mayan Civilization.

The most familiar ruin at the site is El Caracol, a sophisticated astronomical observatory which is a pre-Columbian city that was built during the Classic period of Maya People. The construction in the city exhibits a variety of architectural style.


Christ Redeemer Brazil


The Statue of Jesus Christ in Rio De Janeiro known as the Christ Redeemer is one of the most iconic symbols in Brazil. This Art Deco style statue in Rio de Janeiro is one of the Seven Wonders of the world which has been looming over the Brazilians from upon Corcovado mountain in an awe-inspiring state of an eternal blessing since 1931.

The construction of the statue was initiated in 1922 and completed by 1931,  Its arms stretch 92 feet wide and are 98 feet tall and have a 26 feet tall pedestal. Christ the Redeemer is made of Soapstone and concrete which is located atop the 2,300 tall Corcovado mountain.

Christ the Redeemer was designed by Heitor da Silva Costa which is a 130 foot which is made of Concrete and soapstone statue and costs approximately $ 250,000 the money that was raised through donations.




Petra Jordan


Petra was declared as a World Heritage site in 1985, which is also listed among one of the seven wonders of the world also it is listed as one of the 28 Places to See Before You Die ” by Smithsonian Magazine.

It has immense architectural, historical value that makes it one of the most attractive tourist destinations in the world. Petra was the capital of the Nabataean empire of King Aretas IV which existed in from 9 BC to 40 AD.

A number of incredible structures were carved into the stone which helped create a pseudo oasis a 4000 seat amphitheater and the EI Deir monastery have also helped this site to earn its Fame

Petra is also known as the “Rose City” due to the stone color from which it is carved and the members of this civilization were early experts in construction intricate tunnels, water chambers, and water technology.

This water conduit system and the Rock cut architecture are the most noticeable features of this ancient city.

Amazingly apart from being listed as one of the seven wonders of the world this is also listed as UNESCO’s world heritage site also.

I hope you find this article helpful, If you like this article then kindly share it with your friends and followers on your favorite social media platform.

Kindly subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest travel updates straight to your inbox. If you would like to contribute your valuable thoughts and suggestions feel free to mention down in the comment section below.


Hi, my name is Nitish Soni and I am a Travel Blogger.